It is now time to begin the process for selecting T’Kope Kwiskwis’ 2024 Vigil Honor Nominees. Below is information on what the Vigil Honor is, who can earn it, and how to write a Letter of Nomination. There is also a note for Vigil-Eligible Arrowmen towards the bottom.

The Vigil Honor is awarded only to a few Arrowmen each year who have and will continue to give service beyond what is required of them to Scouting, Council Camps, our Lodge, and the OA at large. It is a high mark of distinction based on a person, their deeds, not a checklist of accomplishments. This award is not given out for tenure in scouting

To become eligible for our lodge’s nomination, an Arrowman must have their dues paid for the year and held the Brotherhood Honor for at least 2 years by January 15th, 2024. On that date, a committee will look at each eligible Arrowman and discuss their contributions and personage to decide who is worthy. A Letter of Nomination helps build a case for an Arrowman, as it provides information that the committee might not know. The list of those who are eligible this year was emailed out 10/13/2023.

If there are any Arrowmen you believe are worthy of this high distinction, please first check that their name is on the attached list. If it is, write a letter that is one page or less which includes:
1. Any noteworthy service they have given to one or more of these areas: Scouting, Council Camps, our Lodge, and/or the Order at large
2. Why you personally think they deserve the honor

E-mail the completed letter to me and my advisor at the email addresses sent out on 10/13/2023.

While your letter will only be shared within the Committee, you may remain anonymous if you wish.

Letters will be due by January 8th, 2024, but you should get them done soon so you don’t forget!

Vigil-Eligible Arrowmen,
Please ensure your name is on the emailed list. If you believe you are eligible and are not on this list, that means you need to pay your dues. Please do so by the December 31st, 2023 to be considered for Vigil this Lodge year. Pay dues here!

Non Vigil-Eligible Arrowmen,
If you have NOT paid your 2023 – 2024 Lodge dues, please do so now. The Lodge
needs your support to remain a High Performing Lodge for this year! Pay dues here!

E-mail any questions you have to me and my advisor below.

Yours in Service,
Peter F.
Vigil Committee Chair

Jeff Taylor
Vigil Advisor

The Vigil Honor

Alertness to the needs of others is the mark of the Vigil Honor. It calls for an individual with an unusual awareness of the possibilities within each situation.

The Vigil Honor is the highest honor that the Order of the Arrow can bestow upon its members for service to lodge, council, and Scouting. Membership cannot be won by a person's conscious endeavors.

The Vigil Honor is a high mark of distinction and recognition reserved for those Arrowmen who, by reason of exceptional service, personal effort, and unselfish interest, have made distinguished contributions beyond the immediate responsibilities of their position of office to one or more of the following:

  • Lodge
  • Order of the Arrow
  • Scouting community
  • Scout Camp

Under no circumstances should tenure in Scouting or the Order of the Arrow be considered as reason enough for a Vigil Honor recommendation.

Any member of the Order of the Arrow registered in Scouting and in good standing in a regularly chartered lodge is eligible for recommendation to the National Order of the Arrow Committee for elevation to the Vigil Honor provided that, at the time of the recommendation, the individual has been a Brotherhood member for a minimum of two years. A lodge may nominate a maximum of two percent of their registered Arrowmen once a year, through the Vigil Honor petition. At least 50 percent of all nominated must be under 21 at the time of nomination.