National Awards

Distinguished Service Award

The Distinguished Service Award was created in 1940 to honor those who rendered service to the Order beyond the lodge level. The award is presented to those Arrowmen who have rendered distinguished and outstanding service to the Order on a sectional, regional, or national basis. The award is presented during NOAC.

The award is a sterling silver arrowhead, bearing an arrow pointing upward and to the wearer’s right, suspended from a white neck-ribbon upon which are embroidered red arrows. A white square knot embroidered upon red cloth is also available. Presentation of the award is limited; nominations are open to both youth and adult.

The following people have been part of T’Kope Kwiskwis at some time and have been recognized for their service:

1961Ford E. Smith
1975Del Loder
1981Richard Good
1983Arnold Young
1992Jeffrey Posey
1998Mark Stolowitz
2006Rob Rosamond
2009Toby Capps
2012Ken Hayashi

Lifetime Achievement Award

Del Loder receives Lifetime Achievement Award

The Legacy of Servant Leadership Lifetime Achievement Award was created by the National Order of the Arrow Committee in 2002 to recognize the Order’s second and third generation “Founders” – Scouters who have built an enduring legacy to Scouting and the Order of the Arrow through a lifetime of cheerful service to others.

The award is intended to recognize only those extraordinary Arrowmen who have deeply influenced and significantly contributed to the vision, direction, and growth of the Order of the Arrow, faithfully demonstrated a lifetime of servant leadership, and, through their daily example, illuminated and reinforced the significance of the values found in the Scout Oath and Scout Law.

In 2009, longtime member of T’Kope Kwiskwis Lodge, Del Loder, received this award.  Click here to read more about Del’s special presentation.

E. Urner Goodman Award

E. Urner Goodman Service AwardThe E. Urner Goodman Award was established in 1969 as a tribute and testimonial to the Order’s founder, E. Urner Goodman. Its purpose is to encourage and challenge Order of the Arrow members and lodges to increase their effectiveness in promoting and increasing Scout camping in each council. Awards are presented to two outstanding lodges in each region annually. For a lodge to be eligible for consideration, the E. Urner Goodman Camping Award petition should be completed and forwarded with the lodge’s charter renewal application.

Mox Kar-Po Lodge received this honor in 1971.

OA National Service Award

The T’Kope Kwiskwis lodge won the 2012 OA National Service award for our outstanding service event ArrowCorps502. ArrowCorps502 was a week-long conservation service project from July 31st to August 6, 2011, at Mt. Rainier National Park. ArrowCorps502 was a partnership between the Chief Seattle Council, T’Kope Kwiskwis Lodge, and the National Parks Service designed to leave a lasting legacy for future park users. Volunteers Built trails, restored campsites, and experienced the power and beauty of the Mountain firsthand. The 2014 ArrowCorps502 is just over a year away so join Scouts, Scouters, Venturers, and Sea Scouts from all over the country for an unforgettable adventure! Be a part of the legacy of service.

T’Kope Kwiskwis becomes the first lodge in our section to win this award and only the second lodge in Washington State. The National Service Award was established in 1999 to recognize lodges in each region that have performed outstanding service, both in a qualitative and a quantitative sense, to their council. The National Service Award Petition is submitted along with the lodge recharter application. To be considered for the National Service Award, a lodge must be certified as a National Quality Lodge the year in which the National Service Award Petition is submitted. Two lodges per region will be granted the National Service Award each year.

The National Service Award petition requires lodges to submit information on current lodge membership (the size of a lodge is a factor when considering the magnitude of the service it has provided), a detailed description of the largest and most meaningful service project the lodge has completed for its council, and a record of all service performed by the lodge for the council since the last recharter process. Service for this award is defined as any project that has directly benefited the Scouting program in the council.

Congratulations to all who made ArrowCorps502 a success!